Nakheel’s Spam
Posted: October 1st, 2008 | Author: dotblack | Filed under: Business, UAE | No Comments »How often does a company get e-mails on info@domain.com? When a prospect has no hold of a contact in a company that he/she is contacting. To inquire about more information, the kind of information that wouldn’t be there online.
When we first offered e-mail campaigns at dots & lines, the first question we were asked was, where do you get your database from. We’d often use other portals’ databases with demography details. Not the ones compiled by a bot from websites. Human managed database of people who won’t receive e-mails from us, nor from our clients, but from the portal that registered its users, and that’s the users who’ve agreed on receiving ads, and sponsored messages.
There’s no one day that we don’t get offered to buy a collection of 100,000 potential databases sent to our “info” e-mail. Now think about it, if a database seller is spamming, and calling that e-mail marketing, then what’s left for the rest of the spammers? Unfortunately that market has falsely grown. It’s very obvious, analyze your “info” e-mail list and you’ll be shocked with how many local spams we have daily.
Now to what’s bugged me for the last three days. Nakheel’s Spam. Nakheel is not the next door furniture shop or the next electronic shop that is trying to sell some knock-off goods to you. It’s the builder of the 8th wonder of the world, the palms.
You’d skip the spam first, you’d delete it the the second time, you might add it to your spam filter the third time, and that’s because it’s from Nakheel, otherwise it’s sent to junk from the first shot. Nakheel’s spam has been sent to us three times, the same message, the same details, to the same e-mail address. So, from my point of view, all they care about is someone actually clicking the links in the spam and/or adding the counts of loading the message splash-image. And that’s where the campaigns get into false numbers, and only numbers, because with such media plan, it’s nothing but spam shots, and the numbers could never ever ever result in any kind of true ROI.
Here’s the web version of the spam shot:
http://www.dubaimoon.com/newsletter/Dubaimoon.html
The funny part is, it is sent form an e-mail address from a company called evast.ae. But the e-mail message is hosted at Dubai Moon.
Another funny point is, the e-mail is signed by Dubai Moon. Here are some of the screenshots.
September 30th Shot:

October 1st Shot:

October 2nd Shot:

We never use “info” to send any e-mails, it’s rather a list that we receive e-mails from. Thus, no one of us at dots & lines would ever use it as our e-mail address while registering anywhere! And no, we’re not registered with Dubai Moon, nor Evast, and not even Nakheel on any portal of theirs. So? That’s spam!
Leave a Reply